.st0{fill:#FFFFFF;}

Halal Alcohol 

 December 20, 2022

By  Adam Kaan

When most Muslims hear the word 'alcohol' they lose their minds. But is all alcohol really haram?

You'll discover the answer to that and much more in this blog post. 

Here are fatwas from every sector of the Muslim community, whether you're a berailwi, deobandi or salafi, I've got you covered.


Deobandis:

Answered by:  Maulana Tahsin Alam

Question:

Assalamu Alaikum Wa Rahmatullah

‘Fry light’ is a cooking oil spray and in its ingredients it states alcohol. When inquiring about the alcohol the company states it is a preservative only and burns away when cooking to such an extent that even with scientific testing the alcohol is not found. All this information plus more is available on Frylight website. Jazakallah

  بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمنِ الرَّحِيْم

                               In the name of ALLAH the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

Answer:

Assalamualaikum Wa Rahmatullahi Wa Barakaatuh

“Yes – we use a small amount of alcohol in our cooking sprays as a preservative, made from sugar beets or grain and water. The alcohol evaporates away during cooking and is undetectable under scientific testing.”[1]

The above-mentioned product is permissible to consume.[2]

Only Allah Ta’ala knows best

Written by Maulana Tahsin Alam

Checked and approved by Ustadha Siddiqa al-Farsiyyah

Darul Ifta Birmingham

 

[1] Frylight FAQs, Frylight, accessed 23rd March 2019, http://www.frylight.co.uk/how-to-use/faqs/.

[2] Imām Marghīnānī, Al-Hidāyah, volume 7 pg. 285.


Ethanol Alcohol being extracted from sugar canes

After reading Q&A about ethanol in sandwiches I feel it is necessary to bring to your attention that alcohol derived from sugar cane is in fact intoxicating and I am including a link to clarify this.

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rum

With this in mind, would the sandwiches still be halal to eat if the amount of ethanol isn’t enough to intoxicate?

In the name of Allah, the most Beneficent, the most Merciful.

Answer

Synthetic alcohols and all alcohol besides those which are not extracted from dates and grapes in foods are permissible to use and consume as long as it is not used to intoxicate.

Therefore, if the amount of ethanol in the food is intoxicating then it will not be permissible to consume that food, otherwise it will.

This is because alcohol extracted from sugar canes falls under the category of Khamr Ghair Haqeeqi (i.e. non khamr) and alcohol extracted from dates and grapes fall under Khamr Haqeeqi.

Saaiduna Abu Hurairah Radiallahu Anhu narrates that the Prophet of Allah Sallallahu Alahi Wasalam said “Khamr (wine) is from these two trees, dates and grapes.” (Sahih Muslim p.167 v.2)

Only Allah Knows Best

Mohammed Tosir Miah

Source: http://daruliftabirmingham.co.uk/ethanol-alcohol-being-extracted-from-sugar-canes/

There's more alcohol in an apple than in low calorie oil sprays

Click to Tweet


Ethanol is intoxicating but not haram in the Hanafi Mathab


You have mentioned in a number of responses that Ethanol is permissible as it is not an intoxicant. However from the sources I have come across, they all seem to indicate that it is? Could you confirm whether all Ethanol is allowed in all cases.

Answer

In the name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful
Assalaamu `alaykum waRahmatullahi Wabarakatoh

Regarding your query, it seems to be based on a misconception. i.e." if something taken in a large quantity is an intoxicant then it is Haram even in a small quantity". While this is the opinion of some Ulama, the illustrious Fuqaha of the Hanafi Mazhab don't hold this view.

According to the Hanafi Mazhab, alcohols are divided into 2 groups Khamr and non Khamr. Khamr can be said to be alcohol derived from dates and grapes while non-khamr is alcohol not derived from any of these two . Now according to the Hanafi school of Fiqh, the ruling regarding Khamr is that even the most minuscule amount of it is haraam, regardless of whether it intoxicates or not, while the ruling considering other alcohols is that only that amount is haraam which intoxicates.

A small amount which doesn't cause intoxication is not haraam. The only condition is that it must not be drunk for amusement and pastime in a manner resembling that of the fussaaq (major sinners). If it is drank to gain strength, to digest the food, for medical reasons etc then it is permissible as long as it does not intoxicate. The point you mentioned ie. ." if something taken in a large quantity is an intoxicant then it is Haram even in a small quantity" this is taken to apply only to Khamr, while all other alcohols would only be haraam in an amount that could intoxicate.

Thus if you see the answers we give, we clearly state that alcohols made from things other than dates and grapes are permissible as long as they are in such a small amount that couldn't intoxicate eg. most softdrinks contain minuscule amounts of ethanol, however this is classified as permissible as even if one drinks so much of a particular softdrink that he cannot possibly drink a sip more, even the person with the lowest alcohol tolerance would not become intoxicated. (See Al-hidayah Vol.2 Pg.497, Ahkaamul Quraan liljassaas Vol.2 Pg.5, Bahrur Raaiq Vol.8 Pg.247,Shaami Vol.6 Pg.452-H.M.Saeed, Mabsoot Vol.24 Pg.15, Bada'i Vol.5 Pg.113, Tabyeen Vol.6 Pg.46, Tuhfatul Fuqaha Vol.3 Pg.325, Alamgiri Vol.5 Pg.412, Shilbi alat Tabyeen Vol.6 Pg.47, Ahsanul Fatawa Vol.8 Pg.488)

We hope that this has clarified the matter for you.

In case any further clarity is needed feel free to contact us.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows

Wassalam

Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Darul Iftaa, Madrassah In'aamiyyah

askimam.org/public/question_detail/10761.html

Fatwa from Sanha (South African National Halal Authority)

Wa ‘alaykumus-Salaam w.w

Jazakumullah Khairan for your email correspondence and for the opportunity to be of service to you. We advise as follows:

Our position regarding alcohol usage in the manufacture of products is as follows:

Alcohol - The use of alcohol in flavours is very widespread and common across the spectrum of the food and beverage industry. The following background however, should be borne in mind with regards alcohol:

* Khamr Asli - in the terminology of the Jurists of Islam refers to alcoholic intoxicant beverages derived from grapes, dates and raisins. This type is both Haraam and Najis (impure; napaak). In addition to this, any other 'intoxicating beverage' would also fall within the purview of prohibition (Hurmah).

* Ethanol - this type of alcohol is derived from various sources including sugar cane, starch, coal, etc. and is used as a solvent extraction agent, propellant etc. This type is not deemed Najis (impure) and its use in industrial applications as manufacturing aids is condoned. Accordingly, its presence in 'residual/trace levels' in food and beverage products does not render such products Haraam.

Ethyl alcohol may also naturally be found in fruit juices and is also generated in the baking process with yeast fermentation.

It is also widely used in the personal care, cosmetic and perfume industry.

Nabeez (date juice mentioned in hadith) would also contain trace levels of ethanol which is condoned. Yes, when it is allowed to ferment to the extent that the ethanol content creates Sukraan (intoxication),such beverage would then become Haraam.

And Allah Knows Best.

Was-Salaam

Consumer Department


Salafi

Fatway Sheikh Al Uthaymeen (R.A)

What is the ruling on drinking beer, noting that there are two kinds of beer – one with an alcoholic content and one with no alcoholic content? Is that regarded as an intoxicant?

Praise be to Allah.

Types of beer

It is essential to differentiate between the two kinds of beer: 

The first is the intoxicating beer that is sold in some countries. This beer is khamr (an intoxicant) and it is haram to sell it , buy it and drink it. The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said: “Every intoxicant is khamr and every intoxicant is haram.” Narrated by Muslim, 2003. 

It is haram to drink a lot or a little of it, even a single drop, because the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) said: “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, a little of it is haram.” Narrated by al-Tirmidhi, 1865; classed as sahih by al-Albani in Sahih al-Tirmidhi. 

The second type is beer that is not intoxicating , either because it is completely free of alcohol, or because it contains a minuscule amount of alcohol that does not reach the level of causing intoxication no matter how much a person drinks of it. The scholars have ruled that this is permissible. 

Scholarly views on non-intoxicating beer

Shaykh Ibn ‘Uthaymin said: 

“The beer that is on sale in our marketplaces [in Saudi Arabia] is all halal, because it has been inspected by the officials and is completely free of alcohol. The basic principle concerning all kinds of food, drink and clothing is that they are permissible until and unless proof is established that they are haram. Allah says (interpretation of the meaning): 

“He it is Who created for you all that is on earth” [al-Baqarah 2:29]

So if anyone says, this drink is haram, or this food is haram, or this garment is haram, say to him, bring your proof. If he brings proof then we should do whatever is indicated by the proof. If he does not bring proof, then his words are to be rejected, because Allah says (interpretation of the meaning): 

“He it is Who created for you all that is on earth” [al-Baqarah 2:29]

Everything in this world Allah has created for us. This general meaning is confirmed by the word jami’an (translated here as “all”). And Allah says (interpretation of the meaning): 

“while He has explained to you in detail what is forbidden to you” [al-An’am 6:119] 

So if something is haram, there should be a clear and detailed indication that it is haram. If there is no such proof, then it is not haram. The beer that is to be found in our markets here in the Land of the Two Holy Sanctuaries (Saudi Arabia) is all halal and there is no doubt concerning that in sha Allah. 

We do not think that any alcoholic content in a thing makes it haram, rather if something contains a percentage of alcohol which will make a person intoxicated if he drinks it, then it is haram. But if the amount is miniscule and does not have any effect, then it is halal.  

Some people think that the words of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him), “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, a little of it is haram”, mean that if a small percentage of an intoxicant is mixed with a large amount of a substance that is not intoxicating, then it is haram. This is a misunderstanding of the hadith. “Whatever intoxicates in large quantities, a little of it is haram” means that if a lot of something will cause intoxication, and a little of it will not cause intoxication, then a lot or a little are both haram, because you may drink a little that does not cause intoxication, then you may be tempted to drink more and become intoxicated. But if something is mixed with alcohol but the alcohol is a small amount and does not have any effect, then it is halal and does not come under the ruling of this hadith.” (Al-Bab al-Maftuh, 3/381-382)

And Allah knows best.

A sip of an alcoholic beer would be haram, even though one sip won't intoxicate. Whereas even if you drank a gallon of the non alcoholic beer, which would be impossible, it would not intoxicate therefore it's not haram.

https://thefryerguide.com/is-fry-light-halal/

Final Thoughts

I assumed most in our community would know that not all alcohol is haram but after having served over 200 clients with this issue coming up every month and clients debating it, I realised I was wrong. Therefore I felt it would be a good idea to clarify it here for everyone.

A few points to consider even if it were haram, which it isn't by any scholars standards as you've seen above.

  • It burns off so there is no alcohol in the final product
  • It evaporates when it gets in contact with air
  • It's not enough to intoxicate even in large amounts

Not all alcohol is a khamr (intoxicant) and not all khamr (intoxicants) are alcohol

Click to Tweet

Enjoy your one cal sprays without fear or guilt.  And know it's probably more haram to have a big belly than it is to use these sprays.

Please share this post so we can increase the general knowledge of Islam amongst Muslims as well has help to change the health status of our community


Tags


You may also like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}

Learn The Secrets Busy Professional Asian Dads Are Using To Lose Weight Permanently Without Cutting Out Their Favourite Foods Or Spending Hours In The Gym!